Board of Directors

The Institute's Board of DIrectors

Michael Mendelson

Senior Scholar, Caledon Institute of Social Policy

Michael is Senior Scholar at the Caledon Institute of Social Policy.  Prior to his appointment to Caledon he was Deputy Secretary (Deputy Minister) of Cabinet Office in Ontario, and previous appointments included serving as Assistant Deputy Minister in Ontario’s Ministries of Finance, Community Services and Health, and  In Manitoba as Secretary to Treasury Board and Deputy Minister of Social Services.

He has published many articles on social and fiscal policy, as well as a book on the issue of universality.  He has been a Visiting Professor at the University of Toronto, School of Social Work.  He has undertaken many consulting projects both in the private and public sector since leaving government. Michael also has had numerous appearances on TV and radio and articles in the print media.


 David Eaves

Open Innovation Expert

An expert in innovation David works with leading companies, non-profits and governments on strategy and management. His clients Code for America, the World Bank, Greenpeace as well as several governments and companies.

As an open government expert serves on the Federal Government's Open Government advisory Panel, served on the Australian Gov 2.0 International Reference Group and advises numerous other governments. In2009 his work with the Mayor of Vancouver led to the drafting of the Open Motion which initiated the city's open data portal and other initiatives.

David writes and is invited to speak on politics, public sector renewal, open source and innovation as well as foreign policy and other subjects.He posts several times a week on his blog (, publishes regularly in various forums including the Toronto Star, the WeGov Blog at Personal Democracy Media and has a chapter in numerous books including the O'Reilly Media book on Open Government. Born and raised in Vancouver, David is a graduate of Queen's University and Oxford University.


Ratna Omidvar, C.M., O.Ont.

Executive Director and Adjunct Professor
Global Diversity Exchange (GDX)
Ted Rogers School of Management
Ryerson University 

Ratna Omidvar is the founding Executive Director of the Global Diversity Exchange (GDX) at the Ted Rogers School of Management, Ryerson University. GDX is a think and do tank on diversity, migration and inclusion that connects local experience and ideas with global networks. It is dedicated to building a community of international leaders who see prosperity in migration. Under the leadership of Ratna, founding Executive Director, the GDX is developing a program of academic and applied research, and identifying evidence-based leading practices and taking them to scale.

Ratna is Chair Emeritus of the Toronto Region Immigrant Employment Council, Co-Chair of DiverseCity: the Greater Toronto Leadership Project, and a Director of the Canadian Club of Toronto, The Environics Institute, and Samara. Ratna is co-editor of Five Good Ideas: Practical Strategies for Non-Profit Success (2011) and co-author of Flight and Freedom: Stories of Escape to Canada (forthcoming). She is a faculty member and advisor of the Metropolis Professional Development program at Carleton University. Ratna received an Honorary Degree, Doctor of Laws, York University in 2012.

Ratna was appointed to the Order of Ontario in 2005 and became a Member of the Order of Canada in 2011, with both honours recognizing her advocacy work on behalf of immigrants and devotion to reducing inequality in Canada. In 2010, Canada's national newspaper, The Globe and Mail, profiled her as its Nation Builder of the Decade for Citizenship. In 2014, Ratna received the Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany in recognition of her contribution to the advancement of German-Canadian relations.


Chaviva Hosek                                             

Professor, School of Public Policy and Governance, University of Toronto

Chaviva Hosek is currently a Professor at the School of Public Policy and Governance at the University of Toronto.  From 2001 to 2012, she served as  President and CEO of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR).

Her previous work was as Director of Policy and Research in the Prime Minister's Office under The Rt Honorable Jean Chretien for seven years, and as Senior Policy Advisor for three years in Opposition. Chaviva was given the Public Policy Forum Outstanding Performance Award in 2003 and the Queen’s Golden and Diamond Jubilee Medals. She has holds three other honorary degrees and is an Officer of the Order of Canada.


Thomas E. Kierans, O.C., LL.D, M.B.A, F.ICD

Senior Fellow, Massey College

Thomas Kierans is a sought-after advisor with a distinguished career that spans many areas of Canadian life. Tom began his career as an investment banker, eventually becoming president of McLeod, Young, Weir. He has served on over twenty private-sector corporate boards, and was made a Fellow of the Institute of Corporate Directors.

Many organizations have benefited from Tom’s volunteerism and philanthropy, especially those in the fields of education, scientific research, and healthcare. Among other roles, he has served as director of Mount Sinai Hospital and as deputy chair of the Lunenfeld Tanenbaum Biomedical Research Institute, one of the world’s leading centres in biomedical research. A committed philanthropist, Tom has also made substantial contributions to a number of research chairs and fellowships.

Tom is a passionate advocate for research and educational excellence in Canada. He is Chairman Emeritus of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council, Executive Chairman Emeritus of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research, a Senior Fellow of Massey College, and an advisor to the Schulich School of Business at York University. A number of public-sector initiatives, including the Royal Commission—Citizens’ Forum on Canada’s Future, have benefited from his leadership. He served as a policy advisor to the Honourable William G. Davis, among others. Tom holds four honorary degrees, has been awarded the Golden and Diamond Jubilee Medals, and is an Officer of the Order of Canada.